friendship, funny, humor, society

WIERD CONNECTIONS

Often I find myself overhearing a conversation, being drawn into a wierd situation, or witnessing a happening around me, that I don't quite know how to respond to. People are interesting to say the least…..

Don't get me wrong, I am kind of a bizarre person myself. I have a dry sense of humor and am often misunderstood. I find things amusing, that not everyone finds amusing. I'm sure I've been overheard sounding idiotic, and I'm certain I've been talked about by strangers who have been within earshot! The thing is, I don't really care what people think, and I've recently come to realize that I'm not alone in that feeling.

Today, I bellied up to the bar at a local brewery with my good friend. We didn't have much time, but thought we would grab a quick beer and catch up with one another. This is always a good thought process, but for some reason, the two of us are always interrupted by what I would call bizarre people…. but what my friend would call possible clients, for her newly opened YOGA studio! She always draws them into conversation, invites them to her studio, and is NICE…..EVEN when I give her the eye!

Anyway, as we were chatting away, a nice lovely local couple came in and sat next to us. The lady was loud, appearing to want everyone to know she had arrived. I made the unfortunate mistake of looking over at her, just when she was removing an item from her jacket…….She made eye contact! Then, I noticed what was in her hand. A medium sized rust colored stuffed animal. When I smiled at her, she said “Its my aardvark, it goes everywhere with me”!

I thought “Hmmmm….naturally”!

I quickly wanted to direct my attention back to my friend, but the lady wasnt done. She said “I can see you girls eyeing it. I know you want to feel how soft it is…. so go ahead”! Then, she placed that dingy ALF looking creature directly in front of me. I had no idea what plagues this item had, and I didnt want to touch it, but I was stuck between a rock and a hard place……I touched it! I thought this would appease her…but she wasnt done!

As my friend and I attempted to take a good selfie photo of ourselves, the lady became a bit surprised that we didnt want the aardvark in our photo! We laughed it off, but I think we stopped just shy of having to have a full photo shoot with a strangers stuffed animal! Instead, she took her own phone and the aardvark to different spots around the brewery to photograph it, and promised the bartender that if she accidentally knocked something over, her aardvark would pick it back up!

I had trouble believing at this point that this was really happening….That this was not a twisted dream that was occurring after mixing Benadryl with wine! I felt bad that I was going to have to leave my friend here alone, to finish her beer, but I had to get home to my children. However, as I was driving home, I thought that this was a win win for her…That is, if she could get the lady to join some classes at her yoga studio.

If she felt comfortable charging the aarvark, she could get two customers in one sitting…….

I guess there really is a purpose for each group of people who cross paths! Thank God for wierd connections! 🙂

 

 

Standard

9 thoughts on “WIERD CONNECTIONS

Leave a Reply

