friendship, funny, humor, society

Variety is the Spice of Life

My whole life, I have always maintained a vast variety of friend groups. I have always been a good reader of people, and feel that I am very good at changing my appearance or behavior, depending on who I am surrounding myself with.

While growing up, my friends were separated into my “sports” friends, my party friends, my church friends, and then of course, my best friends, who often overlapped in different groups. I would morph myself into whatever character I needed to play at that desired moment, or with that particular friend.

As an adult, I havent changed much. I still have my running friends, my party friends, my high falutin friends, and my “good girl” friends, only now the friend pool is smaller, and there is alot more overlapping of groups. I love all of my friends….each of their characters both amuse and appease me in a different way.

Sometimes however, there are times that I wonder how I even became friends with some of them, and I wonder how we even maintain a friendship over time. The differences between us is overwhelming!

Over the weekend, I played with four different sets of friends….which is almost unheard of with four children. However, for the sake of time and space, I will only talk about the two groups with the hugest amount of difference.

I started with one good buddy at a “hole in the wall” bar and grill, in a small town in Indiana. This is really right up my alley! We dined on fried pickles and chicken strips, while watching the already drunk patrons arrive. 80's and 90's rap music blared in the background, as women played beer pong and men stood around at the automated punching bag, seeing who could hit it the hardest! Girls were sneaking cigarettes in the bathroom, and human sandwiches were being made on the dance floor. Old men were buying us shots of glorified Kool-aid, and we were really the belles of the ball….even in our sweat suits!

Dont get me wrong, I feel that I am much classier than this, as evidenced by my ordering of Hennessy with a coke back. As they wiped the dust off of the 70 year old bottle that no one had ever ordered, they stared at me questionably, and handed it to me in a shot glass. Here, only beer and shots of whiskey are ordered.

Truthfully, I just feel more normal surrounded by this type of people. I know that if I play my cards right, I will be excepted fully by them…..I could easily play this role…..and so could my highly amusing accompanying friend. Even though she refused my crisp $5 bill, to simply throw one punch at that punching bag, she was more than willing to do the Duggy and really excited to do the Electric slide! She's my hero on most days. πŸ™‚

Two days later, I found myself at a fancy breakfast, with my high falutin friends. I have been friends with these ladies, for far longer than my Electric Slide dancing buddy, and I enjoy them for completely different reasons. Im not sure if they were this snobby when I met them, or if they have worsened with age, but their diva attitudes are AWESOME, and VERY different than my own.

However, I can play this role too. I had to get up much earlier to glam up. I had my fanciest tank top on, with a classy sweater, and as much Sildapia jewlery that I could fit on (which I bought from them). I had my high heel boots on and my red lipstick…….all to eat a glorified egg sandwich. I was excited to meet them!

Here, they serve water in fancy bottles, coffee is from areas around the world, and the napkins are linen. I fell right into place with my other diva friends, and it wasnt long before we had caught ourselves up. When it came time to order, my classy little friend asked for cinnamon toast….and she said she would appreciate not being served heels!!! Here's the times when I giggle and stare in amusement. I have never even seen an establishment serve heels….ever! However, maybe because she was being ridiculous with her request…They served her heels! She was appalled, as I reminded her that she would probably eat a heel, if she was starving and had no food. She responded by saying….”Not if it was rye”!

As we waited for our food, I listened as my other classy friend told me she was out of vacation hours because her dog had torn its ACL, and it cost $5,000 to get the leg fixed. Then, she had to call in sick to sit in the dog cage with the poor thing, and perform range of motion exercises for days on end. When I laughed at her, she told me I would do the same thing.

I assured her that she was mistaken….. I wont even buy an expensive bag of dog food. Plus, I wouldnt even waste all of my vacation days to do range of motion on my own children! These are the same friends that spend more on a tank top than their monthly heat bills, and fly to New York to get their hair done! They change their bedding to go with the seasons, and their dogs are dressed to the nines…..Yet, I adore them all!

Although I cant live like this for long, I enjoy feeling fashionable and hoity toity for a moment. And….As silly as I find their lifestyles at times, you can only imagine how ridiculous they think I am. Perhaps opposites do attract in this friendship!

Really, in both of these situations, I AM me. Im just a fancier…or “not so fancier” me. At the end of the weekend, I wondered where the true me would go…what kind of venue would make me happiest….

……As you may have guessed….A winery! I could dress cute and womanly, but not be weighed down with lia sophia jewlery. I could have purple teeth and no one would care. I could laugh, chat, and be carefree…..

And this, my friends, is something we could all enjoy!

 

Standard

34 thoughts on “Variety is the Spice of Life

  1. You are quite the chameleon! What happens when your red-neck friends and your diva friends are with you at the same time? Do you find yourself confused and just go with the red-neck diva persona? πŸ™‚ Great post!

  2. I know exactly what you mean! I’ve often said I feel like a bit of a chameleon; morphing and changing with the environment. I’ve even noticed my language changes. It’s so fascinating. I used to morph too much I think. Now I feel as you were saying at the end of your post, pretty much just alternative versions of ME. Gussied up, gussied down, it’s all just ME. πŸ™‚

  3. You sound a lot like me. I bet we would get along crazy good. I can do the Electric Slide, Boot Scootin Boogie, and Cupid Shuffle while sippin on whisky and beer AND enjoy a lovely glass of wine while painting a lovely portrait or touring a museum (all while wearing fashionable jewelry and clothes from my friends small businesses) on any given day – with just about anyone. I love it all. Do you ever find that sometimes it is hard to find the real “you” because you play so many different versions?! I do…smh. πŸ˜‰

  4. Most of my friends are on the internet. I find it best not to have everyday many life friends. If i am out with people there are certain expectations that are made and I cannot stand for people to expect me to dress a certain way or act a certain way. For instance Tia. i am wearing my onesie pajamas as we have this little exchange. How many of my life friends would accept this answer none. Being invited to a party is the thing i hate most. How dare a friend who loves me and cares about me put me in a position to have to lie to them and come up with a reason to not go and bump elbows with them and their douchebag friends. You see Tia, This is one of the many reasons you are awesome. πŸ™‚

    • Tom, if I ever invite you to a party, I want you to know that I fully EXPECT you to wear your onesie pajamas. I don’t expect you to shave, and you only have to rub my elbows if you want to….. Just food for thought! πŸ™‚

  5. I’m not much of a morpher, which I guess is both good and bad. But I pretty much can hang with anyone — I was always one of those kids who could be accepted by the popular kids (but not really one of them), liked by the wild bunch and basically the goddess of the smart kids πŸ˜‰

    My husband’s family think I’m a little peculiar though. They have more money than they really know what to do with (but I wouldn’t call them precisely classy, lol), but when it comes to getting me gifts, they tell the salesfolk to show them the plainest thing in the shop. Mind you, not the cheapest. I’m RESTRAINED, darlings.

    I also snort when I laugh, so make of that what you will.

    • I’m sure they have grown to love your peculiar behavior! πŸ˜‰ I would have pictured you with the cool kids and the wild kids, but I’m having trouble picturing you in the math club or Spanish club! If we lived closer, I think you and I would overlap in many groups though…. We’d have a ball….plus, you could teach me Spanish…and math! πŸ˜‰

      • I was a dork in the AP classes, so I was one of the nerds too. Plus I love comic books and Buffy the Vampire slayer.

        I think we’d have a blast together too. I find myself often wishing you lived nearby. You are so fun!

      • Do you STILL read comic books and watch Buffy? I may have to create a whole NEW friendship group for the likes of you! πŸ˜‰

      • LOL! NONE! Sometimes the Family Circle, if Im doing the crossword puzzle in the Sunday paper…. Youre hilarious…oh wait….unless your serious, then Its still hilarious in a cool sort of way! Ill tell you one thing….You could DEFINITELY be one of my best friends! Actually, you are getting pretty high up there as it is. People date other people for years on line without meeting one another, surely we could maintain a best friendship!! πŸ™‚

      • Sounds good to me. I think we’d laugh a lot.

        I wish I could’ve made a trip to Indianapolis work this spring. But I’m keeping an eye open for other potential races there.

      • No May huh? A running buddy and I had contemplated traveling for a weekend to do a race this year…Perhaps if you find a good one, we could meet up?! It will happen in time…;)

  6. I too have groups of very different friends. Two groups in particular. They are not hugely dissimilar except one group show they have money and the other group are a mixed group with no monies (like me) and monies, but do not show it.
    They have got together and individually got on very well, but funnily as two groups were quite hostile to each other, (afterwards).
    I enjoy them both immensely.
    Variety is the spice of life.

    • Lol…that is true! It’s always the talk afterward that proves the difference! Even my own self barks about what I’ve witnessed at times afterward…..No heels of toast? Seriously?! πŸ˜‰

  7. I have been so busy and not able to keep up with blogging. I do have a new post scheduled for tomorrow, but SO little time to read blogs. Sorry to have been absent this week. I tried something new in the creation of this piece, and it ate up way too much time–time as in days. Why do I do this to myself? LOL

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Believe me…I get behind often, especially when my children’s activities take more of my time than I have.;). I’m glad you checked in, and look forward to your new masterpiece! πŸ™‚

      Feeling great in Indiana,

      Tia

  8. Wow, I don’t have near enough friends apparently… πŸ™‚
    I have great friends though, my main group of friends is really diverse, we have a red-neck, the girl next door, a sweet heart, and the new wife of an ex husband, just to name a few!
    I am glad that you had so much play time this weekend!

    • I did have play time! My boys went on a sleepover, and people we hadnt seen in awhile asked us to play… It just worked out. Diversity in friendships is awesome. ??? The new wife of YOUR ex husband? LOL:)

Leave a Reply

