concerts, fame, friendship, funny, humor, society

THE ACT OF SELF ENTERTAINMENT….

I am what some people would call high maintenance. Not so much in the diva manner, but more in the form of needing alot of attention and reassurance. Maybe needy is a better word.

Anyway, this winter has been harsh. We have had so many snow days, and days where temperatures are less than zero. Generally speaking, this means no one wants to leave their warm homes or beds….including myself. However, this leads to boredom and something people call “cabin fever”, though I doubt that many people have stayed in a cabin, to even know what that is! I just want it to be warm again…I want to play outside….I want to do ANYTHING except for clean this house ONE MORE DAY!

I rely heavily on people to entertain me. Renee and my children fill much of my afternoon time with amusing stories or events, and my friends try to play when they can, and accommodate my needs to the best of their abilities. But sometimes….they need a break! My personality is enough to wear a person down. While I can understand their needs of solitude, and their needs to actually do chores of their own, it often times leaves me bored….sometimes leading to a false sense of loneliness! Besides, I always have plenty of things to do, but I sometimes just don't want to do them.

On these days, I have to encourage myself to make the right choice. I can easily talk myself into napping all day, telling myself that I don't get to rest very often, but then I always feel unproductive and guilty for doing so. Or, the other option is to try and talk myself into feeling energetic……this is easier said than done!

Either way, the truth is, I have no problem entertaining myself. I sometimes can talk myself into going on a run, or playing on my guitar. Sometimes I work on something crafty, or shop, or read….and of course, I write! I simply would RATHER have someone else around to laugh with me. It seems like much less work.

Recently, I have been busting my guitar out a little more frequently. Whenever I do this, I start to feel like there could still be a chance for me to end up on VH1, even at my advanced age. Another thing I always want to do when playing for a few days, is get a band together. Since I don't think I'm good enough to put fliers up in coffee shops, I again pester my friends to join. They tell me that they can't sing and that they cant play an instrument, but I think that's just a cop out! Afterall, I'm only considering a garage band of sorts….could they really be that bad?!

The only problem with starting the band though, minus a few minor things that you can probably figure out on your own, is my song selections. I always want to play love ballads on my guitar…Like Anne Murray, Kenny Rogers, and Taylor swift. Naturally, I want to play that music, because that's what I like to listen to. Who would honestly want to go to see a cover band that played that?

Over the past month or so, I have been listening to alot of Celine Dion. Although I get made fun of alot, I cant help but push play on disc 6 of my CD player, while in the car. Before now, I hadn't really admitted that to anyone, except for one friend, who I will call Tina, because that's her name. She giggles at me, says she is going to hold it over my head, and says that I'm a dork….I can't help that! Last night, I told her I had learned several new Dixie Chicks songs on my guitar. Mocking me, she suggested that I try doing a Celine Dion piece on my acoustic guitar. After reminding her that Celine doesn't have alot of acoustic guitar in her music, she said “Thats what's great about it Tia. Make it your own…..AND record it”! So, I said I'd try.

This morning, I found myself bored again. After trying to curl my hair in the front (which was another suggestion made by my same encouraging friend), I decided to give this music video a go! It took a minute/several hours to set up, but I think it turned out really great! The fan blowing my hair back, and the dog laying calmly in the background, only added to the realism….in this thing we call life!

I'm just glad that I have friends that give me tasks to do, to keep the focus off of them for a moment! Thanks Tina, for always encouraging me to follow my dreams, and for giving me the opportunity to have a bored free day! πŸ˜‰

…….Now, before you watch this, picture me at the bow of the ship….all alone…wind blowing through my hair….with nothing on my mind except for Jack Dawson….the love of my life…..and enjoy my first solo! πŸ˜‰

πŸ™‚

Standard

22 thoughts on “THE ACT OF SELF ENTERTAINMENT….

  1. TartanJogger says:

    Go girl! You can saaang!
    I’m gonna dust down my guitar……. but I think I may be missing a string….. πŸ™‚

    • Lol! Now my biggest fear was that people would think I was being serious and trying to showcase my voice….You know because of my natural full range….:). Don’t tell me you thought this was a real attempt at making the final cut of American idol! Get out the guitar….and let’s do a duet! I’ll be the tenor! πŸ™‚

    • Lol! My daughter told me thats its scary enough to see what I’m willing to do when people are around, but even scarier to see what I do when I’m alone! πŸ™‚ thanks….I certainly amused myself for the day! πŸ˜‰

  2. Tia I really did enjoy your song lady. It takes a lot of courage to get up there and sing and put it out there for the whole world to see. As a guitar player I will tell you you did very well. I am so proud of you πŸ™‚

    • Lol! Thanks Tom! I was just being goofy in my gold shoes and diva outfit. Is it clear that I am going stir crazy in this house?! I have a habit of finding odd things to do to entertain myself….but this is the first time I dared to do it alone! I imagine I will have quite a few talent scouts coming soon eh? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

