family, funny, humor, kids, mom humor, parenting, society, stories

Laughter Therapy

WE all three turned our heads in unison, and all of our stress, all of our anxiety, and all of our frustrations turned to laugher!

Each of us has our own set of stressors that we deal with on a daily basis, and some days seem more packed with stuff than others. I am no different in regards to that. Dont get me wrong, I do find plenty of time to play when the kids are at school, but other days, I have to fit in the things that I neglected on those days.

Today I had a lot to fit in. I was determined to go to the gym, since I had done little in the form of exercise, since the mini marathon, 2 weeks ago. I had to go to the grocery store, because our cabinets were completely empty, and I really needed to clean my house badly. I needed to do about 4 loads of laundry, have dinner made shortly after the kids got home, and I could have desperately used a nap.

Before I left for any of these tasks, my buddy called asking me to move some of the last of her things into her new apartment. Even knowing I had so much to do, I told myself that I could clean this house any day…and it will still look the same in minutes. She needed my help.

I threw a load of laundry in, I made it to the gym, and I bought groceries and put them away by noon. I didnt have time to shower, before I was off to assist my friend, and I admit I smelled of a mixture of rain, urine, and a hint of paprika. Still, we stayed completely on task and used our complete 2 hour timeframe wisely. As a matter of fact, we finished right in time for me to leave, still leaving it questionable as to whether I would make it in time to pick up my kids.

Feeling rushed, unclean, and in a frenzy, I quickly gathered my children and headed home to start dinner. Tonight, 3 of our children had events that started around the same time. Usually, its 3 childrens events, divided by two parents, but today it was 3 childrens events and me. Luckily, due to rain, one event was cancelled immediately after school. That left two…

Dinner finished in just enough time for me to load the boys in the car to head on our way. My plan was to drop one off at his game early, then turn around and drive my other son to his practice 45 minutes away…then come back to the game. However, I was feeling nervous because the sky was dark. I was worried that the game would be cancelled, I would be nowhere near him, and I would be the horrible mother that left her child behind, with no umbrella!!

Just prior to reaching the ball field, the game was thankfully called off….Now there was only one.

However, we were now traveling on a road that was completely out of the way. It took us what seemed like forever to make our way to the highway, and I was growing very frustrated. As I traveled down the ramp to the highway, I noticed that the traffic was at a stand still. I could have cried tears at this point, though I felt silly for thinking this way.

We were moving so slowly, that is was becoming aparent that we werent even going to make it to the last event on time. I hate sitting in traffic, especially when its 5:00 and when I didnt have time to get gas! We snail paced it along, randomly watching ambulances and road side assistants trying to make their way through gridlock traffic. I tried desperately not to panic about the gas, or simply flip out, due to the drama that seemed to be closing in around me. The boys were quiet for the most part, except for a random comment that alerted me to the fact we were going to be late.

I was trying to get into the left lane, but I knew that as soon as I did, my lane would start moving. Finally, when I couldnt take it another minute, I veered my car into the left lane, feeling good about my decision. One minute later, we saw the holdup….

WE all three turned our heads in unison, and all of our stress, all of our anxiety, and all of our frustrations turned to laughter. Beside us were vehicles with flashing lights, following behind a white deteriorated mini van. Her windows were down, her front tire was flat, and she was leaning as far up as she could in her seat, chain smoking cigarettes, while driving as slow as she could on a bent rim. Every single person that passed her, watched her, knowing this was keeping them from their event.

My boys and I immediately started laughing. One of my sons said, “WHAT was that”? I laughed and said it was probably his biological mother. Clearly, despite each and every one of our own personal lifestyles, that add all the ingredients to create this dysfunctional family we live in, we are on a level to joke about the nature of such things…and we just kept giggling. We werent really laughing at the lady herself, but the situation….

I have no idea why the roadside people allowed for this woman to block an entire lane of traffic, during rush hour, while she went 3 MPH. I dont know why they didnt just fix her tire. I dont know for sure why the ambulance was on its way. I dont know why as soon as we passed her, the entire highway was clear, and I dont know why she didnt save her cigarettes for when she was at the side of the road, waiting for her tire to be fixed. I do know that this situation changed a stressful mama into a laid back one. It jolted me back to reality! So what if we had to sit in a little traffic?!… We didnt have any problems, in comparison to this poor lady!

That is…..Unless we ran out of gas…

I decided in the whole scheme of things, Id rather have my own stressors than anyone elses!!

http://imtoolazytothinkofaname.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/cute-boy-shoes-rain-water-cool-emo-0062_lovepicturex-blogspot-com_large.jpg

http://www.bubblews.com/assets/images/news/1770596860_1391105397.jpg

http://www.theguiltfreemom.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/picresized_1278362866_mom_laughing-225×300.jpg

Standard

2 thoughts on “Laughter Therapy

Leave a Reply

