friendship, funny, humor, society, weather

The Positive Effects of Rain….

The water surrounded my feet, filling me with a sense of exhilaration. I could tell by the temperature outside, that the water I was standing in, was colder than it looked. Like a child, I lifted my foot and quickly stomped it back down into the water….

THEN, I smiled big and just giggled…….

Most of you know by now that Im easily entertained. If you already knew about that, then you also probably have come to realize that I become obsessed easily, with the idea of either having things that I desire, and/or doing things that I desire to do..

Recently, while on an adventure with one of my best buddies, we just happened to get stuck in traffic, on a college campus. It seemed at the time, that the entire college had been let out at the exact same time, and we had to wait for every last one of them to cross the road. My friend was becoming aggitated…and trust me when I say that my friend is not as pleasant, when she gets like this. I was desperately trying to distract her, and pointed to the rain boots that almost everyone of these college girls were wearing. We began to watch the girls in unison….

There were short ones and tall ones. They came in a variety of colors, varying from basic black to the brightest of pinks. They were wearing them with shorts, capri pants, jeans, sweatpants, and of course the new stretch pant, accompanied by a half shirt. Before we knew it, the road was clear, and I had found a new mission! WE NEEDED THESE BOOTS!!

While sharing a quick beer at a local brewery, I began to pester a group of teenage college kids for information, and had gotten the full scoop. These boots were called HUNTER boots, and retailed for about $140!! This is way more than I would spend on an item of such nature, but now I had become obsessed.

I decided that my buddies and I would find a day to go shopping for these together, as it was becoming the rainy season. Each week however, our union failed to happen, and my friends would knock the wind out of me, by telling me that we would have to order on line. I would then take it upon myself to talk about these boots incessantly to everyone I know, still failing to have them in my possession.

Finally, one day it happened, and the three of us were able to get together, and order our fancy boots on line…

The waiting and anticipation for these boots was literally killing me.

Last night, I saw that my boots arrived, but I didnt open them until this morning. I immediately made my way to the window, praying that it was pouring down rain….and I thanked Jesus that it was!! Today was a girls day out with a few of my friends, and I was ecstatic to don these new fashionable boots, that I had carried on about all these weeks before. I would be the envy of all of them!

As I walked to and from my house and school, I walked through the wet grass as much as I could. I walked through every mud puddle, and made it a point not to dodge the drainage ditches along the way. Even though my boots were shiny and new when I opened them, I was filled with pride to see that I had collected every blade of loose grass, tree branch, and trash along the way. I walked with pride into my childrens school, knowing that people would immediately notice my boots, which just so happened to draw out the color of my eyes…..which was not purely coincidental. I had selected the color jade with a real purpose!!

When I rounded the corner to my friends, they noticed my boots first thing. There was a laughter, followed by endless compliments, that I couldnt even begin to count. There was now a glow around me….And I dont just mean my boots!!

I spent the day frolicking in the rain with both my new friends, and the old friends I had before purchasing the new ones. This was a fabulous day for a variety of obvious reasons.

As I waded through another puddle, I began to picture my sons baseball game that I would have to attend tonight, in the cold air and lightly falling rain. Normally, this would be the time that I would be secretly praying that the game was cancelled……but not tonight. Tonight I would sit happily, with my feet in the wet grass, knowing that my feet would remain dry and fashionable.

The only thing left to do now, is get the triad of ordered boots together. I cant wait be able to jump in puddles with my on line ordering companions!

Sometimes, there aint nothing like a good rainy day!! 🙂

 

Standard

7 thoughts on “The Positive Effects of Rain….

  1. TartanJogger says:

    I LOVE the colour of your Hunters! Fab! I have purple ones, we’re clearly welly-sisters as well as wine-sisters 😉

  2. Oh, these are SO cool, Tia! My students at Univ. of KY used to wear them, but I had no idea about the brand or the COST! Jeepers! And you know–GREEN is my favorite color–followed by purple!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Thank you, though I feel a little embarrased that you saw the cost, what with your cost saving equidorian living!;) Still, when I get rich, I’d be happy to send you a pair!!:)….in purple or green!!

Leave a Reply

