crime, funny, humor, humour, society, stories

RUDENESS: The New Normal

I almost hit a police officer with my car today. He wasnt in uniform, so I dont know if I would have been in less trouble or not, but the look on his face told me that he wasnt pleased. For whatever reason, I decided to send a text message, before fully parking my car in the space at the gym. My fake attempt at slamming on my breaks, acting as though I didnt see him, while holding my chest and giggling, and then motioning him across the road, as though it was a sheer accident, didnt seem to be working!! Maybe it was due to the fact that I was still holding the phone in my hand.

Regardless, after rolling his eyes, he crossed in front of my car without issuing me a ticket or a well deserved tongue lashing. I immediately felt bad, as I parked my car. This isnt the first time I couldnt wait to read a text, and really, it was rude that I risked hitting the poor man.

After I berated myself for this behavior, my train of thought drifted, and I began thinking about the increased rudeness in our society as a whole. We dont respect other people the way we used to…or at least the way the generations before us did!!

As I walked out of the gym to leave, the man in front of me pushed open the door and let it slam back on me. This irritates me so badly!! Why have people stopped holding the door for others? It seems like it is just a basic common courtesy…one that our parents taught us as children. This behavior bothers me so much, that I have been overly conscientious of opening the door for others….

Sometimes I wait too long!What Ive come to realize, is that if a person starts running to get to the door you are holding, it probably wasnt necessary to hold the door for them.

However, I still havent figured out how many times a person has to say thank you in a row, if there is more than one door to be opened. Obviously, the same person is probably going to be in front of you for the duration of your walk in, unless you are some sort of speedwalker. So, is one thank you enough for all seven doors?….Or must we say thank you each and every time? Its neither here nor there I guess, because not enough people are doing it these days to make it a definitive rule!! Its not necessary to say thank you at all, to the person who lets the door slam in our face!!

Its not just this miniscule stuff either. Now we deal with increased episodes of road rage, worry about teenagers raping the elderly, and have to look in our periphery at all times, to make sure some punk isnt going to punch us in the temples!!

Recently, while attending my daughters track meet, I noticed a policeman pacing the track. I didnt know why this was necessary at a middle school track meet, but clearly I lived in a make believe world of my own. It wasnt long before my daughter had made her way to the stands in disgust! While the girls team was stretching, the boys from the opposite team were coming by and kicking the girls in the back?! My first reaction was to naturally laugh…because it WAS funny, but the more I thought about it, this behavior was assinine!! Who teaches or allows their sons to act like that?!

Then lets not forget something we can all relate to…workplace NONSENSE!

The rudeness and reminants that our coworkers leave behind in our communal bathrooms is a subject that should be talked about all on its own… But what about the people that steal our lunches out of the refrigerators, and snacks out of our lockers?? The audacity!!

While still in nursing school, I used to work with a nurse that was a disgusting being all together. She would burp and fart at the lunch table, and then blow it across the table at you. At one point, I witnessed her steal another nurses lunch out of the refrigerator, and then sat down to eat it. After a few minutes, the other nurse came in to eat her lunch, and noticed TANYA eating it right there in front of her!! She confronted Tanya about eating her lunch, and she claimed she thought it was hers!! I laughed myself silly, as poor Tanya had to go buy the crotchety old nurse another lunch.

Even though “Thou shalt not Steal” is pretty high up on the list of Commandments, some people have no qualms about doing it. Recently, I was laughing aloud again, as I heard a story of someone stealing yet another lunch. Instead of just eating it and carrying on, they actually left a note, giving advice on how the lunch could have been better!! What is happening in the world today?

Its only funny because it wasnt my lunch!! Otherwise, I would be on detective duty, trying to find the culprit….So I could do what exactly?? They certainly arent going to be shamed are they??

Well, in the midst of ridiculing everyone else and their rudeness, I remembered that I too, recently stole something out of a coworkers locker. I felt horrible, but my desire for those fiery Cheetos, overcame me. However, the difference between me and the rest of the filth of the world, is that I was willing to leave 20 IOU's and signed my name. I think this speaks volumes doesnt it?!

I know Im not innocent, and I can be rude at times, but I hope I have set an example for all the rude people out there. If you do something rude, or less than perfect to another person….Dont just run….

Give them an IOU… and say youre sorry!!

Because I lead by example I sincerely say…

Sorry Officer….

 

http://www.cartoonmotivators.com/images/P/SlammingDoorInFace.jpg http://wp.patheos.com.s3.amazonaws.com/blogs/lovejoyfeminism/files/2013/11/but-kick.png

http://imgs.free-press-release.com/uploads/pr/imgs/2012/03/12/1331610015_2.gif

Standard

3 thoughts on “RUDENESS: The New Normal

  1. Have you seen rant episode of Friends when some guy eats Ross’ sandwich and triggers Ross’ rage? It’s hilarious.

    I’ve not figured out the door thing either. It’s to where I long for the good ole days of men holding the door for ladies, lol. Half the time I feel ridiculous holding the door open for some buff 20 year old guy at the gym who doesn’t seem to appreciate it.

    • That same buff guy would probably not even make a move to hold the door for a cute little lady like yourself either!!! Just rude!!:)

Leave a Reply

