family, funny, humor, kids, mom humor, parenting, poetry, society

Another Birthday Poem For a Little Birthday Diva….



I guess getting older was part of your fate…

Yesterday you were two, and today you are eight!!

I don't know where the time went…how it happened so fast!

What seems so current and new, is really just a blur from the past!!

 

There was a moment when it was just me and a little you…

We would picnic and nap, and you even cuddled with me too.

You would fall behind, and make poor attempts at catching up,

but still burrow your little hand in mine, while holding that tiny sippy cup!!

 

 

Being the baby of the family is a role you have always played well.

There isnt a person in the world who wouldnt be able to tell!

The change in the pitch of your voice, gets you whatever you desire,

and when youve done something wrong, you call the other person the liar!!

 

You're cute and youre spunky, and have a style of your own.

You're dramatic, annoying, and I cant even imagine you with a phone!!

You throw serious tantrums…some bigger than lve ever before seen..

Im not ready to even consider your life as a teen!!

 

Though youre funny and witty, you create drama in both of our lives.

Sometimes rather than dealing with you, Id like to stand amidst 10 bee hives!!

You cry, and yell, and refuse to do most anything that we ask,

and you make me consider before dark, to take a sip from my flask…

 

You need so many things including bows, glitter, dresses, and high heels.

Today you reminded me that “Beauty is pain”, as though you know how that feels.

I often wonder what youre life would have been like, if we werent blessed with your presence.

I dont see how you could have survived, while living the life of a peasant….


As crazy as you make me, it is abundantly clear,

that you are smarter than all of us, my dear…

You have us all wrapped around your tiny little finger,

and even have us convinced that you are the very best singer.

 

Today you lose the car seat, yet another rite of passage..

I think staying one step ahead of you, may be to my advantage.

We spend most of our similar lives, butting heads with each other,

but I wouldnt be able to bear the thought of never being your mother.

 

I Love YOU my baby girl!!

 

Happy Birthday!!

 

Love Mama T



 

 

 

Standard

5 thoughts on “Another Birthday Poem For a Little Birthday Diva….

    • Thank you my friend! You probably just had a bit of dry eye:) Her birthday weekend was a hit…I didnt allow her to take the whole month like I did!!

  1. Hey Tia, where have you gone? And why doesn’t your email address work?

    Now please forgive the shameless sales pitch – and also, feel free not to approve this comment (I just didn’t know how esle to reach you) – but I wanted to let you know that my book is now available to download from Amazon and other eBook retailers: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00L5OU2CQ/?tag=theoffiinbe-20

    As a long term reader of the blog, I think (sincerely hope) that you’ll enjoy it!

    Hope you’re well otherwise x

Leave a Reply

